# MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF GEORGIA HELD BY CONFERENCE CALL May 30, 2007

## **CALL TO ORDER**

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia held a special meeting via conference call on Wednesday, May 30, 2007. The Chair of the Board, Allan Vigil, called the meeting to order at 9:20 a.m. Present on that day, in addition to Chair Vigil, were Regents Kenneth R. Bernard, Jr., James A. Bishop, Hugh A. Carter, Jr., Robert F. Hatcher, Felton Jenkins, James R. Jolly, Elridge McMillan, Patrick S. Pittard, Doreen Stiles Poitevint, Willis J. Potts, Jr., and Wanda Yancey Rodwell.

### ATTENDANCE REPORT

The attendance report was read on Wednesday, May 30, 2007, by the Secretary to the Board, Julia M. Murphy, who announced that Vice Chair William H. Cleveland, and Regents W. Mansfield Jennings, Jr., Donald M. Leebern, Jr., Benjamin J. Tarbutton, III, and Richard L. Tucker had asked for and been given permission to be absent on that day.

# **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

After the meeting was called to order, Chair Vigil called for an Executive Session for the purpose of discussing the presidential search for Savannah State University ("SSU"). With motion properly made and variously seconded, the Regents who were present voted unanimously to go into Executive Session. Those Regents were as listed above. Also in attendance were Chancellor Erroll B. Davis, Jr.; the Interim Chief Academic Officer and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Beheruz N. Sethna; the Secretary to the Board, Julia M. Murphy; the Associate Vice Chancellor for Media and Publications, John Millsaps, and Associate Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs, J. Burns Newsome. In accordance with H.B. 278, Section 3 (amending O.C.G.A. § 50-14-4), an affidavit regarding this Executive Session is on file with the Chancellor's Office.

In Executive Session, Regent McMillan, Chair of the Special Regents Committee for the Savannah State University Presidential Search, discussed the finalists for the SSU presidency then turned the floor over to Dr. Sethna. Following Dr. Sethna's presentation of additional statistics regarding the search process, Chancellor Davis recommended that Dr. Earl G. Yarbrough, Sr. be named as the next President of SSU. Committee Chair McMillan made the motion, which was variously seconded and unanimously approved.

## **OPEN SESSION**

At approximately 9:30 a.m., Chair Vigil reconvened the Board in its regular session and announced that during the Executive Session of the full Board of Regents, Dr. Earl G. Yarbrough, Sr., full professor and former Provost and Vice President For Academic and Student Affairs at Virginia State University in Petersburg, Virginia, was unanimously elected as the President of Savannah State University. Motion properly made, seconded, and unanimously adopted, the Board approved the appointment.

Chair Vigil thanked the Chair and members of the Special Regents Presidential Search Committee, Regents McMillan, Jolly, Potts, and Bishop for their time and efforts toward this very important responsibility of the Board, the election of a president for one of the System's institutions.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 9:32 a.m. on May 30, 2007.

s/
Julia M. Murphy
Secretary, Board of Regents
University System of Georgia

5/

Allan Vigil Chair, Board of Regents University System of Georgia