## Annual Meeting of the USG Regents Advisory Committee (RAC) for Sociology October 22, 2021

The meeting was held virtually through a Microsoft Teams call. The meeting was called to order at 11:06 AM by RAC Chair Dr. James Wright (Dalton State University).

The meeting began with a welcome from Dr. Wright and the taking of attendance. Please see the roster on page three for all meeting attendees. Dr. Wright reviewed the important points from the USG RAC Chair and Liaison meeting, held virtually on September 10, 2021. Dr. Barbara Brown of the USG provided the following charge for the Sociology RAC in 2021 – 2022:

Regents' Academic Advisory Committees (RACs) serve two functions. They serve as a system-wide association or network of peers in a discipline that can discuss and advance issues of interest to the RAC members. They also perform specific required functions for the University System of Georgia.

This document focuses on the functions required by the University System of Georgia, but is not intended to discourage RACs from pursuing additional agendas not specified below.

- *Review Area F guidelines for Sociology and make changes as needed.* <u>https://www.usg.edu/curriculum/assets/curriculum/documents/socio\_Sociology.pdf</u>
- *Review institutional Sociology Area Fs to ensure that they comply with RAC guidelines for Sociology.*
- Please review the common-numbered courses in Sociology. Consider whether you want to add more detail to the course descriptions. <u>https://www.usg.edu/academic\_affairs\_handbook/section2/C738/#p2.4.10\_common\_co</u> urse prefixes numbers and descriptions.
- Please make Math Pathway/Statistics Pathway recommendations if you have not already done so.

Dr. Wright noted that all of these issues were taken care of during the 2021 - 2022 RAC session, so we should be in compliance with USG requests.

The next item of business was the election of the Chair-Elect. The Chair for the 2021 – 2022 academic year is Dr. Amy D'Unger (Georgia Institute of Technology) and the Immediate Past Chair is Dr. James Wright (Dalton State University). The committee elected Dr. Ted Brimeyer (Georgia Southern University) as the Chair Elect.

The committee then selected additional members of the Executive Committee. According to the <u>by-laws</u>, the EC is comprised of the Chair Elect, Chair, Immediate Past Chair, and three members who represent 1) two-year and state colleges, 2) state universities, and 3) regional/research universities. Following are the representatives for the three positions:

- Two-year and state colleges: Dr. Beth Cavalier (Georgia Gwinnett College)
- State universities: Dr. Sara Mason (University of North Georgia)
- Regional and research universities: Dr. Amy D'Unger (Georgia Institute of Technology)

Dr. Wright then opened to floor to Q&A and discussion. The committee discussed the recently implemented changes to USG faculty policies governing things such as promotion and tenure. Discussion

centered on the implementation of the "student success" metric and Dr. Lori Hagood, BOR University System Office Liaison to the committee was asked for input. She was not sure how "student success" was to be measured, so Dr. Wright said he would follow up with more information.

Discussion about the proposed revision of the general education curriculum (currently on hold) followed. Dr. Wright will share a Powerpoint presentation made by the USG (pre-COVID) that outlined the proposed changes.

Dr. Christie Flatt (Gordon State College) said that the GSC faculty are updating their promotion and tenure application materials and asked that committee members share any application materials used at the various USG institutions (e.g., CV templates, forms, etc.). Documents can be emailed to her at cflatt@gordonstate.edu.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:40 AM.

Minutes Respectfully Submitted, Amy D'Unger

Minutes were approved by a majority of SOC RAC members on November 12, 2021

## **MEETING ATTENDANCE ROSTER**

Institution	Representative	Present/Absent
Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College	Jewell Rivers	Present
Albany State University	Cassandra Jordan	Present
Atlanta Metropolitan State College	Michelle Geisert	Present
Augusta University	William Hatcher	Absent
BOR University System Liaison	Lori Hagood	Present
Clayton State University	Lisa Holland-Davis	Present
College of Coastal Georgia	Roscoe Scarborough	Present
Columbus State University	Cameron Williams	Absent
Dalton State College	James Wright	Present
East Georgia State College	Harry Vogel	Present
Fort Valley State University	Komanduri Murty	Absent
Georgia College & State University	Stephanie McClure	Present
Georgia Gwinnett College	Beth Cavalier	Present
Georgia Highlands College	Christina Wolfe	Absent
Georgia Institute of Technology	Amy D'Unger	Present
Georgia Southern University	Ted Brimeyer	Present
Georgia Southwestern State University	Jamie MacLennan	Absent
Georgia State University - Atlanta	Eric Wright	Present
Georgia State University - Perimeter	Romney Norwood	Present
Gordon State College	Christie Flatt	Present
Kennesaw State University	Jennifer McMahon-Howard	Present
Middle Georgia State University	Rebecca Nees	Present
Savannah State University	Stephanie Alexander	Absent
South Georgia State College	Carl Ide	Present
University of Georgia	Jim Coverdill	Present
University of North Georgia	Sara Mason	Present
University of West Georgia	Pam Hunt Kirk	Present

Valdosta State University	Anne Price	Absent
---------------------------	------------	--------