Advisory Committee on Chemistry Meeting Minutes April 11, 2003

The Advisory Committee business meeting was called to order at approximately 4:50 p.m. on the campus of Middle Georgia College.

Present: Bill Wysochansky (Georgia Southwestern State University), Bernard Majdi (Waycross College), Paul Franklin (Georgia State University), Mark May (Darton College), John Sink (Southern Polytechnic State University), Vicki Guarisco (Dalton State College), Tom Moran (Georgia Institute of Technology), Ron DeLorenzo (Middle Georgia College), Ola Olubajo (Savannah State University), Louise Wrensford (Albany State University), Paul Cerpovicz (East Georgia College), Harvey Moody (Floyd College), James T. Baxter (Valdosta State University), Al Panu (Kennesaw State University), Ken McGill(Georgia College & State University), Farooq Khan (State University of West Georgia), Kris Biesunger (Board of Regents), Richard Wallace (Armstrong Atlantic State University), James L. Mack (Fort Valley State University), Nick Yang (Macon State College), Andrea Wallace (Coastal Georgia Community College) and Chris Wozny, Chair, (Waycross College).

The first Agenda item was given by the University System and that was to consider if we felt there was a need to make any changes to Area F of the core curriculum. After some discussion by the committee members Chris Wozny made a motion that there are no changes necessary for Area F. Paul Franklin seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The second agenda item was also at the request of the University System and that involved common core learning outcomes. A draft document was proposed and submitted for consideration by Chris Wozny prior to the meeting. A new version was distributed at the meeting reflecting changes suggested by several members after review. Some outcome exclusions were discussed on the basis that common learning outcomes should reflect only those topics that are common to all programs in the System. With this in mind a background in nuclear chemistry was removed from consideration as an outcome. Other changes were discussed and are included below.

- 1. A motion (Ron DeLorenzo, second Paul Franklin) that a statement related to pK_a be included. The motion passed unanimously, followed by a motion (Ken McGill, second Ron DeLorenzo) that the Chair formulate that statement and distribute it for approval. The motion passed unanimously.
- 2. Add #5 under Atomic Theory In chemistry it is useful to recognize types of reactions which include, replacement, combination, decomposition, etc.
 - 3. Strike # 9 under Process-based learning outcomes.
- 4. Add under a new #1 in the Process-based learning outcomes (laboratory section) an appropriate statement on an appreciation of safety. (To be developed by the Chair.)

- 5. Add to #3 under Process-based learning outcomes " Evaluation of error in measurement".
- 6. Change #5 under Process-based learning outcomes to "Use the process of dimensional analysis to perform operations such as converting...etc.
- 7. Modify #8 under the same section as above to simply measure colligative properties.
- 8. Under #5 in Process-based learning outcomes add new #6 which would address oral and written communication skills. (To be developed by Chair.)
- 9. Under Process-based learning outcomes (laboratory section) add new outcome addressing the ability to graph and interpret data.

The document was tabled until the revisions are developed. The group will review the edited document electronically for final revision, discussion, and vote.

The last agenda item was to discuss the ability of students, having completed a core curriculum at a two-year school, to complete a baccalaureate degree in two years. The discussion topics included difficulties involved in advising, course transfer and course scheduling, in both two-year and four-year institutions. Although many concerns were raised there was no consensus of a solution

The agenda for the Saturday session was presented included presentations on environmental health, safety, and regulations, instructional technology in the laboratory, and e-core.

The new Chair-elect for the Chemistry Advisory Committee is Vicki Guarisco.

The new Executive Committee for the coming year will be:

Chair: Bill Wysochansky
Chair-elect: Vicki Guarisco
Past Chair: Bernard Majdi

Ken McGill Paul Franklin Nick Yang

The meeting adjourned at 7:05 p.m.

Submitted by: W. J. Wysochansky